Eighteen Foss Vessels Awarded Jones F. Devlin Safety Awards

Foss winners boast from two to nine years without a lost-time injury

SEATTLE, June 17, 2008 – Foss Maritime Company’s commitment to safety was underscored earlier this month when a top maritime organization recognized 18 of its vessels for outstanding safety records.

The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) presented the Foss vessels with Jones F. Devlin Awards at the Annual Safety Awards Luncheon in Houston, Texas. Jones F. Devlin Awards are awarded to self-propelled merchant vessels that have operated for two full years or more without a crewmember losing a full turn at watch because of an occupational injury. Altogether, the winning Foss ships have achieved the equivalent total of 82 years without a lost-time injury.

Foss Devlin Award winning vessels honored by the CSA (and the number of years the ships have been injury free) were: Anna Foss (four years); Arrow 2 (seven years); Betsy L (two years); Campbell Foss (two years); Caribe Alliance (four years); Dorothy L. Sylvester (eight years); Drew Foss (two years); Howard Olsen (two years); Jim Moore (nine years); Noydena (three years); Pacific Queen (two years); Pacific Viking (two years); Peggy Foss (two years); Phillip W (four years); Point Fermin (nine years); Point Vincente (nine years); Sam Foss (eight years).

Also recognized was the former Foss tug America (three years), for service before it was transferred to Boston-based subsidiary Constellation Maritime last year and re-named the Orion. A new Foss tractor tug was christened America in February and is operating on Puget Sound.

“We are extremely proud of Foss’ safety achievement,” said Gary Faber, Foss president and COO. “Safety is the keystone of our company’s culture and the Chamber of Shipping of America awards certainly recognize that.”